Divisions at the Institute of Radiation Physics

Directors: Prof. Dr. Thomas Cowan, Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schramm, Secretary: Anne Varga

ELBE Zentrum


MePS Positronen Strahlführung an ELBE

in-beam PET Cam

Abteilung Hadronenphysik

Radiation Source ELBE

Laser Particle Acceleration

Nuclear Physics

Radiation Physics

High Energy Density

Dr. Peter Michel

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schramm

Dr. Andreas Wagner

Dr. Fine Fiedler

Prof. Dr. Thomas Cowan (acting)

  • Operation
  • Enhancements
  • Accelerator research and development
  • Laser plasma particle acceleration
  • Ultra-fast secondary radiation sources
  • Petawatt laser operation and development
  • Junior Research Group Computer assisted radiation physics
  • Photon strength functions in photonuclear reactions and radiative capture
  • Nuclear data for science and technology
  • Materials research by means of positron annihilation spectroscopy
  • Development of novel detectors
  • Nuclear astrophysics
  • Tomography and Tumour-Conform Radiotherapy
  • Prompt gamma Imaging
  • Compact beam guiding systems (Gantry)
  • Radiation Induced Cell Damage
  • Dose application laser-accelerated radiation
  • HADES at SIS/GSI: Di-electron spectroscopy, rare hadronic probes

  • CBM at FAIR: charm and electromagnetic probes

  • Laser-matter interactions

  • Development of novel detectors