Older news from the division of nuclear physics

Older news from the division of nuclear physics (before 2015)

  • Arnd Junghans organized an International Workshop on Elastic and Inelastic Neutron Scattering at HZDR from Dec. 3 - 5, 2014.
  • Roland Beyer and Marko Röder, both successfully defended their PhD theses in November 2014 at TU Dresden. Congratulations, Roland and Marko!
  • Ralph Massarczyk very successfully defended his PhD thesis October 14, 2014 at TU Dresden. He now accepted a post-doc position at the Los Alamos National Laboratory in New Mexico. We wish you all the best for the future, Ralph!
  • Louis Wagner and Thu Trang Trinh landed the 2nd and the 3rd place in the "Best Poster" contest at the 2014 PhD day of the HZDR in Altenberg. Congratualtions to both of you!
  • Ronald Schwengner organized the Fifteenth International Symposium on Capture Gamma-Ray Spectroscopy and Related Topics
    (CGS15) from August 23 to 29, 2015 in Dresden.
  • Michael Anders is first author of an article in "Physical Review Letters" on the confirmation of a persistent problem of the abundance of Lithium isotops generated in the Big Bang. Great work, Micha!
  • Wolfgang Anwand is a coauthor of an article which appeared in "Applied Physics Letters" (highest impact factor of applied physics journals) on red luminescence in Zinc Oxide. Imagine a life without zinc, Wolfgang!
  • Konrad Schmidt is one of the poster price laureates of the conference Nuclei in the Cosmos XIII (July 2014, Debrecen, Hungary). Congratulations Konrad!
  • Maik Butterling defended his PhD thesis summa cum laude July 3rd, 2014 at the Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg. Congratulations Maik!
  • Ralph Massarczyk is the first author of the paper "Nuclear Deformation and Neutron Excess as Competing Effects for Dipole Strength in the Pygmy Region" which presents a part of his PhD thesis work in "Physical Review Letters". Congratulations Ralph!
  • Klaus Heidel, Manfred Sobiella and members of the Oncoray team now (21.01.2014) hold a patent on a special contacting technology for CdZnTe semiconductor detectors. Congratulations!