Contact

Porträt Prof. Dr. Cowan, Thomas; FWK

Prof. Dr. Thomas Cowan
Director Institute of Radiation Physics
t.cowan@hzdr.de
Phone: +49 351 260 2270
Fax: +49 351 260 3700

Anne Varga
Secretary Institute of Radiation Physics
a.vargaAthzdr.de
Phone: +49 351 260 3293
Fax: +49 351 260 13293

Dr. Roland Beyer
Postdoc, beam line scientist, radiation protection officer FWK
Nuclear Physics
roland.beyer@hzdr.de
Phone: +49 351 260 3281

AQ Proseminar „Understanding the Universe“ WS 2018/19

Date: Tuesday, 5. DS (14:50-16:20)
Location: REC/C118
Tutors: T.E. Cowan,
D. Bemmerer, R. Beyer, K. Falk, F. Fiedler, N. Hartley, D. Kraus, F. Kroll, J. Metzkes-Ng, H. Takabe, J. Vorberger, K. Zeil
Contact: T.Cowan@hzdr.de, Roland.Beyer@hzdr.de, A.Varga@hzdr.de

Content:

The proseminar "Understanding the Universe" will cover a wide range of topics in fundamental physics relevant to much of the research performed at the IKTP with a focus on the activities at the Institute of Radiation Physics of the Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf. Guidelines for scientific presentations will be given and the individual talks will be analyzed.

Comments:

  • Every student participating in this proseminar has to give a talk of 20 minutes. There will be up to two talks per date. After each talk everybody in the audience is allowed and encouraged to ask scientific questions and discuss the content of the talk. Afterwards the presentation itself will be analyzed and advices for improvements will be given.
  • If you wish to participate in the proseminar, please take a look at the topics below and send a ranked list of three potential topics and three prefered dates to roland.beyer@hzdr.de. From this list, one topic will be chosen depending on the preferences of all participants. The final content of the talks will be defined in face-to-face discussions with the responsible tutors.
  • If you have an own proposal for a topic please submit it and we will decide if it matches the scope of the seminar and assign a competent tutor to you.
  • Registration is closed! All possible dates are taken! See final schedule below!


Topics:

  Title (subtopics are always possible) Tutor
1 Detection of Exoplanets T. Cowan
2 Laser Alchemy - Extreme Physics with Lasers T. Cowan
3 The Plasma Universe T. Cowan
4 Stellar Evolution D. Bemmerer
5 Big Bang Nucleosynthesis D. Bemmerer
6 Magnetised astrophysical jets in the universe and laboratory K. Falk
7 Fusion reactors and power of the stars K. Falk
8 Gravitational waves and laser interferometry K. Falk
9 Diamond Formation in Icy Giant Planets N. Hartley
10
Superionic Structures: Making water act like a metal N. Hartley
11 Origin of Cosmic Rays H. Takabe
12 Supernova Explosions H. Takabe
13 Creating Giant Planets in the Laboratory D. Kraus
14 Formation of Planetary Sysems
D. Kraus
15 Red Dwarfs: The Most Common Stars in our Galaxy D. Kraus
16 The Search for Extraterrestrial Life D. Kraus
17 The quest for metallic hydrogen J. Vorberger
18 The role of demixing for the interior structure of planets J. Vorberger
19 Radiotherapy with Particle Beams F. Fiedler
20 Detectors and Accelerators for Medical Science F. Fiedler
21 Laser particle acceleration for oncology research J. Metzkes
22 Pulsed High-magnetic fields for compact laser-driven proton beam lines F. Kroll
23 High Power Lasers as plasma accelerators K. Zeil
24 Nuclear Physics Fundamentals R. Beyer
25 Radioactivity in everyday Life R. Beyer
26 The Re-Definition of the SI-System R. Beyer

Timetable:

Date Lecturer Title (click to download) Tutor
2018/10/09 Dr. Beyer, Roland Introductory Guide to Scientific Presentation  
2018/10/16 Boettcher, Valentin
Möhling, Kilian
Detection of Exoplanets
Detection of Exoplanets
Thomas Cowan
Thomas Cowan
2018/10/23 Bühring, Maren
Grumbach, Justus
The Re-Definition of the SI-system
Magnetised astrophysical jets in the universe and laboratory
Roland Beyer
Katarina Falk
2018/10/30 Quasebarth, Julius
Seifert, Maximilian
Superionic Structures: Making water act like a metal
The quest for metallic hydrogen
Nicholas Hartley
Jan Vorberger
2018/11/06 Granfors, Mirja
Wolf, Henrik
Formation of Planetary Systems
Creating Giant Planets in the Laboratory
Dominik Kraus
Dominik Kraus
2018/11/13 Schmidt, Christian
Thiede, Sebastian
High Power Lasers as plasma accelerators
Laser Alchemy - Extreme Physics with Lasers
Karl Zeil
Thomas Cowan
2018/11/20 Krtschil, Felix
Matthes, Oliver
Supernova Explosions
Supernova Explosions
Hideaki Takabe
Hideaki Takabe
2018/11/27 Jacobi, Hannah
Krauße, Jann
The Search for Extraterrestrial Life
The Search for Extraterrestrial Life
Dominik Kraus
Dominik Kraus
2018/12/04 Gutsche, Christian
Hempel, Peter
Fusion reactors and power of the stars
Fusion reactors and power of the stars
Katarina Falk
Katarina Falk
2018/12/11 Schmid, Konstantin
Garreis, Julian
Stellar Evolution
Stellar Evolution
Daniel Bemmerer
Daniel Bemmerer
2018/12/18 Kotz, Maximilian
Kollatzsch, Sophie
Gravitational waves and laser interferometry
Gravitational waves and laser interferometry
Katarina Falk
Katarina Falk
2019/01/08 Schmieder, Georg
Wolf, Marielle
Red Dwarfs: The Most Common Stars in our Galaxy
Red Dwarfs: The Most Common Stars in our Galaxy
Dominik Kraus
Dominik Kraus
2019/01/15 Geerds, Birte
Grodofzig, Raphael
Radiotherapy with Particle Beams
Radiotherapy with Particle Beams
Fine Fiedler
Fine Fiedler
2019/01/22 Klimova, Olga
Manja, Daniel
Detectors and Accelerators for Medical Science
Pulsed High-magnetic fields for compact laser-driven proton beam lines
Fine Fiedler
Florian Kroll
2019/01/29 Ryndyk, Daniel
Illig, Maja
Radioactivity in everyday Life
Diamond Formation in Icy Giant Planets
Roland Beyer
Nicholas Hartley

Contact Information:  
  PD Dr. Daniel Bemmerer d.bemmerer@hzdr.de
  Dr. Roland Beyer roland.beyer@hzdr.de
  Prof. Dr. Thomas Cowan t.cowan@hzdr.de
  Dr. Katerina Falk k.falk@hzdr.de
  Dr. Fine Fiedler f.fiedler@hzdr.de
  Dr. Nicholas Hartley n.hartley@hzdr.de
  Dr. Dominik Kraus d.kraus@hzdr.de
  Dr. Florian Kroll florian.kroll@hzdr.de
  Dr. Josefine Metzkes-Ng j.metzkes-ng@hzdr.de
  Prof. Dr. Hideaki Takabe h.takabe@hzdr.de
  Dr. Jan Vorberger j.vorberger@hzdr.de
  Dr. Karl Zeil k.zeil@hzdr.de

Contact

Prof. Dr. Thomas Cowan
Director Institute of Radiation Physics
t.cowan@hzdr.de
Phone: +49 351 260 2270
Fax: +49 351 260 3700

Anne Varga
Secretary Institute of Radiation Physics
a.vargaAthzdr.de
Phone: +49 351 260 3293
Fax: +49 351 260 13293

Dr. Roland Beyer
Postdoc, beam line scientist, radiation protection officer FWK
Nuclear Physics
roland.beyer@hzdr.de
Phone: +49 351 260 3281