Regional & National Cooperation

In order to bundle competencies and efficiently exchange technological knowledge, HZDR is working closely together with regional and national partners. HZDR is thus collaborating with numerous research facilities in Dresden, and is also active in national working groups and competence pools.

Technische Universität Dresden

TU DresdenThe TU Dresden(1) has been one of the 11German “Excellence Universities” since 2012 and receives national and state funding. HZDR is actively involved in both excellence clusters – the Center for Regenerative Therapies Dresden (CRTD)(2) and the Center for Advancing Electronics Dresden (cfAED)(3) as well as the Dresden International Graduate School for Biomedicine and Bioengineering (DIGS-BB)(4).


Signet Dresden-concept, Exzellenz-Initiative, Technische Universität Dresden, Forschungsallianz von TU Dresden und Dresdner ForschungsinstitutenDRESDEN-concept(5) is a TU Dresden network with the HZDR and other strong partners from the scientific and cultural sectors with the objective of making the excellence of Dresden research more visible. The partners tap into and use synergies in the fields of research, training, infrastructure and administration. They are coordinating their scientific strategy and identifying the areas in which Dresden is leading. They are developing a joint strategy for bringing leading global scientists to Dresden.

European XFEL

Logo European XFEL

At the European XFEL(6), the HZDR is operating – together with DESY(7) – the Helmholtz International Beamline for Extreme Fields (HIBEF)(8). This "extreme lab" will be a key addition to the High-Energy Density Science Instrument (HED) at European XFEL.

Geosciences, materials research, astrophysics, and plasma physics as well as structural biology and superfast chemical processes – the ultimate goal being to combine the European XFEL analytic tool with the most powerful magnetic fields currently available or experimental options of optical laser systems is to glean new insights into previously hidden processes within matter and materials. Prof. Thomas Cowan, director of the HZDR Institute of Radiation Physics, is head of the international user consortium.

German Working Group for Repository Research / Deutsche Arbeitsgemeinschaft für Endlagerforschung

The Deutsche Arbeitsgemeinschaft Endlagerforschung (DAEF) is a merger of leading institutions in repository research. In addition to the HZDR, the Forschungszentrum Jülich(9), the Öko- Institut e.V., Institute for Applied Ecology(10), and the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)(11) are also members in this network. The working group was founded with the objective of making a contribution, through consultation with politics and economics, to secure final disposal of radioactive waste and to design more effective research studies.

Competence Pool for Radiation Research / Kompetenzverbund Strahlenforschung

Logo Kompetenzverbund StrahlenforschungThe Competence Pool for Radiation Research – Kompetenzverbund Strahlenforschung (KVSF) – has the task of ensuring that ample  experts are available, in the future as well, who have a proper overview of historical and up-to-date knowledge regarding the topic of radiation, and who are currently conducting research in this field. For this purpose, promotion of junior scientists and preservation and expansion of pre-existing research facilities comprise the primary focus of efforts. The HZDR Institutes of Radiopharmaceutical Cancer Research(12) and Resource Ecology(13) participate in the KVSF.

Competence Pool East for Nuclear Technology / Kompetenzverbund Ost für Kerntechnik

Button Kompetenzverbund Kerntechnik

The Competence Pool East for Nuclear Technology(14) – Kompetenzverbund Ost für Kerntechnik – is part of the nationwide Competence Pool für Nuclear Technology(15). They seek to bundle the activities in the field of nuclear safety and repository research, collaborate more intensively with universities and industry, and play a part in advancement of international nuclear safety standards. On the part of the HZDR, the Institutes of Fluid Dynamics(16) and Resource Ecology(17) are participants.

URL of this article

Links of the content