Upcoming Events

29-31 March, 2017
PET Pharmacokinetics Course – Dresden 2017

April 20, 2017
Juniordoktor im Schülerlabor DeltaX

School lab DeltaX


Die Institute am Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf

Der wissenschaftliche Bereich des Helmholtz-Zentrums Dresden-Rossendorf untergliedert sich in acht Institute. Wissenschaftlich-technische Untersützung erhalten die Institute von den beiden Zentralabteilungen Forschungstechnik sowie Informationsdienste und Computing.

Dresden High Magnetic Field Laboratory

This laboratory focuses on modern materials research in high magnetic fields. In particular, electronic properties of metallic, semiconducting, superconducting, and magnetic materials are investigated. This way the High Magnetic Field Laboratory serves as a research facility for both in-house and user projects.

Director: Prof. Joachim Wosnitza


Institute of Fluid Dynamics

The institute conducts basic and applied research in the fields of thermo-fluid dynamics and magnetohydrodynamics. The goal is to improve the sustainability, the energy efficiency and the safety of industrial processes.

Director: Dr. Gun­ter Gerbeth


Institute of Ion Beam Physics and Materials Research

This institute conducts materials research for future applications, e. g. in ­information technology and for energy con­version. To this end use is made of the various possibilities offered by the Ion Beam Cen­ter (IBC) for synthesis, modification, and analysis of thin films and nanostructures.

Directors: Prof. Manfred Helm, Prof. Jürgen Fassbender


Institute of Radiation Physics

Basic research in accelerator, nuclear, hadron and laser physics is this institute's top-priority. The Institute of Radiation Physics is also engaged in new ways of producing radiation and particle beams, and new detectors and measurement techniques for application to cancer research, nuclear safety and advanced materials.

Directors: Prof. Thomas E. Cowan, Prof. Ulrich Schramm


Institute of Radio­pharma­ceutical Cancer Research

The institute is engaged in Radio­pharma­ceutical Cancer Research. Chemical, biological and physical working groups collaborate to increase the knowledge in the scopes of molecular imaging and tumor therapy.

Directors: Prof. Jörg Steinbach, Prof. Michael Bachmann


Institute of Radiooncology – OncoRay

The aim of the Institute is to improve cure of cancer through biologically individualized and technologically optimized radiotherapy. Focus and strategy - to bridge the gap between research and clinical application - have been defined in response to the high demand for pre-clinical and clinical translational research in this area. The Institute collaborates closely with OncoRay - National Cen­ter for Radiation Research in Oncology

Director: Prof. Mechthild Krause


Institute of Resource Ecology

The Institute of Resource Ecology performs research to protect humans and the environment from hazards caused by pollutants resulting from technical processes that produce energy and raw materials.

Director: Prof. Thorsten Stumpf


Helmholtz Institute Freiberg for Resource Technology

The HIF – an HZDR institute located in Freiberg – strives to develop innovative ­techno­logies for the economy so that mineral and metalliferous raw materials can be made available and used more efficiently and recycled in an environmentally friendly manner.

Directors: Prof. Jens Gutzmer, Prof. Markus Reuter


Department of Research Technology

The Department of Research Technology develops and implements dedicated research devices ranging from experiment equipment to the level of complex and large research facilities.

Head: Prof. Peter Kae­ver


Department of Information Services and Computing

The Department of Information Services and Computing is the service, consultation and coordination cen­ter for the IT infrastructure of the HZDR. It supports all the institutes, departments as well as external users on the campus.

Head: Dr. Uwe Konrad