Contact

Porträt Prof. Dr. Cowan, Thomas; FWK

Prof. Dr. Thomas Cowan
Director Institute of Radiation Physics
t.cowan@hzdr.de
Phone: +49 351 260 2270
Fax: +49 351 260 3700

Anne Varga
Secretary Institute of Radiation Physics
a.vargaAthzdr.de
Phone: +49 351 260 3293
Fax: +49 351 260 13293

Dr. Roland Beyer
Postdoc, beam line scientist
Nuclear Physics
roland.beyer@hzdr.de
Phone: +49 351 260 3281

AQ Proseminar „Understanding the Universe“ WS 2017/18

FOLLOW THIS LINK FOR WS 2018/19

Date: Tuesday, 5. DS (14:50-16:20)
Location: REC/C118
Tutors (preliminary): T.E. Cowan, K. Zuber,
D. Bemmerer, R. Beyer, M. Bussmann, F. Fiedler, D. Kraus, H. Takabe, A. Wagner
Contact: T.Cowan@hzdr.de, Roland.Beyer@hzdr.de, A.Varga@hzdr.de

Content:

The proseminar "Understanding the Universe" will cover a wide range of topics in fundamental physics relevant to much of the research performed at the IKTP with a focus on the activities at the Institute of Radiation Physics of the Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf. Guidelines for scientific presentations will be given and the individual talks will be analyzed.

Comments:

  • Every student participating in this proseminar has to give a talk of 20 minutes. There will be up to two talks per date. After each talk everybody in the audience is allowed and encouraged to ask scientific questions and discuss the content of the talk. Afterwards the presentation itself will be analyzed and advices for improvements will be given.
  • If you wish to participate in the proseminar, please take a look at the topics below and send a ranked list of three potential topics and three prefered dates to roland.beyer@hzdr.de. From this list, one topic will be chosen depending on the preferences of all participants. The final content of the talks will be defined in face-to-face discussions with the responsible tutors.
  • If you have an own proposal for a topic please submit it and we will decide if it matches the scope of the seminar and assign a competent tutor to you.
  • Registration deadline is the 06.10.2017!
  • Registration is closed because deadline has passed!

Topics:

  Title (subtopics are always possible) Tutor
1 Detection of Exoplanets T. Cowan
2 Laser Alchemy - Extreme Physics with Lasers T. Cowan
3 The Plasma Universe T. Cowan
4 Cosmic Microwave Background: The sound of the universe M. Kobel
5 Comparison of the potentials of the fundamental interactions (electromag, weak, strong) and their phenomenological implications M. Kobel
6 Diamond Formation in Icy Giant Planets N. Hartley
7 The quest for metallic hydrogen J. Vorberger
9 The role of demixing for the interior structure of planets J. Vorberger
10 Galactic Positrons A. Wagner
11 Stellar Evolution D. Bemmerer
12 Big Bang Nucleosynthesis D. Bemmerer
13 Origin of Cosmic Rays H. Takabe
14 Supernova Explosions H. Takabe
15 Radiotherapy with Particle Beams F. Fiedler
16 Detectors and Accelerators for Medical Science F. Fiedler
17 Creating Giant Planets in the Laboratory D. Kraus
18 Approaches to Fusion Energy D. Kraus
19 Dynamics of Meteor Impacts D. Kraus
20 World's brightest x-rays D. Kraus
21 Laser particle acceleration for oncology research J. Metzkes/K. Zeil
22 High Power Lasers as plasma accelerators J. Metzkes/K. Zeil
23 Novel Concepts for Nuclear Power R. Beyer
24 Nuclear Physics Fundamentals R. Beyer
25 Radioactivity in everyday Life R. Beyer

Timetable:

Date Lecturer Title Tutor Downloads
2017/10/10 Dr. Wagner , Andreas Introductory Guide to Scientific Presentation   Download
2017/10/17        
2017/10/24        
2017/11/07 canceled      
2017/11/14 Tegetmeier, Anna
Grützmann, Maja
Nuclear Physics Fundamentals
Radioactivity in everyday Life
Roland Beyer
Roland Beyer
 
2017/11/21 Bührer, Erik
Schieber, Yves
Radiotherapy with Particle Beams
Detectors and Accelerators for Medical Science
Fine Fiedler
Fine Fiedler
 
2017/11/28 Ray, Baibhab
Lötfering, Jakob
Big Bang Nucleosynthesis
Stellar Evolution
Daniel Bemmerer
Daniel Bemmerer
 
2017/12/05 Wünsche, Johannes


Weber, Annika
Comparison of the potentials of the fundamental
interactions (electromag, weak, strong) and their
phenomenological implications
Cosmic Microwave Background: The sound of the universe
Michael Kobel


Michael Kobel

 
2017/12/12 Herrmann, Franziska
Rost, Florian
Supernova Explosions
Origin of cosmic rays
Hideaki Takabe
Hideaki Takabe
 
2017/12/19 Pfeiffer, Tabea
Lehr, Samuel
Laser particle acceleration for oncology research
Galactic Positrons
J. Metzkes/K. Zeil
Andreas Wagner
 
2018/01/09 Kubatta, Marcus
Abele, Fabian
Detection of Exoplanets
Diamond Formation in Icy Giant Planets
Thomas Cowan
Nicholas Hartley
 
2018/01/16 Kunzmann, Felix
Kuns, Malte-Christian
Creating Giant Planets in the Laboratory
Approaches to Fusion Energy
Dominik Kraus
Dominik Kraus
 
2018/01/23 Reddig, Manuel
Kaenders, Josef
High Power Lasers as plasma accelerators
High Power Lasers as plasma accelerators 
J. Metzkes/K. Zeil
J. Metzkes/K. Zeil
 
2018/01/30 Hentschke, Lisa
Sohr, Maximilian 
Laser Alchemy - Extreme Physics with Lasers
The Plasma Universe
Thomas Cowan
Thomas Cowan
 

Contact Information:  
  PD Dr. Daniel Bemmerer d.bemmerer@hzdr.de
  Dr. Roland Beyer roland.beyer@hzdr.de
  Prof. Dr. Thomas Cowan t.cowan@hzdr.de
  Dr. Fine Fiedler f.fiedler@hzdr.de
  Dr. Nicholas Hartley n.hartley@hzdr.de
  Prof. Dr. Michael Kobel michael.kobel@tu-dresden.de
  Dr. Dominik Kraus d.kraus@hzdr.de
  Dr. Josefine Metzkes j.metzkes@hzdr.de
  Prof. Dr. Hideaki Takabe h.takabe@hzdr.de
  Dr. Jan Vorberger j.vorberger@hzdr.de
  Dr. Andreas Wagner a.wagner@hzdr.de
  Dr. Karl Zeil k.zeil@hzdr.de

Contact

Prof. Dr. Thomas Cowan
Director Institute of Radiation Physics
t.cowan@hzdr.de
Phone: +49 351 260 2270
Fax: +49 351 260 3700

Anne Varga
Secretary Institute of Radiation Physics
a.vargaAthzdr.de
Phone: +49 351 260 3293
Fax: +49 351 260 13293

Dr. Roland Beyer
Postdoc, beam line scientist
Nuclear Physics
roland.beyer@hzdr.de
Phone: +49 351 260 3281