Prof. Dr. Thorsten Stumpf

Director Institute of Resource Ecology
Phone: +49 351 260 3210

Scientific awards, honors, professorships


  • Dr. Eleanor Sophia Lawrence Bright, Best oral talk at Journées des Actinides (JDA) 2024, Lille France


Foto: Poster-Preisträger des 10. RCA-Workshop, VKTA, 12.-14. Juni 2023, Dresden, Germany (M. Klotzsche, 1. Poster-Preis, J. Schöngart, 2. Poster-Preis) ©Copyright: Dr. Johannes Raff
  • Dr. Holger Lippold: Habilitation in the field of radioanalytical chemistry, University of Leipzig
  • Clara Lisa Silva, Best oral presentation, 52nd Journées des Actinides (JdA52) 21. April 2023, Dresden, Germany
  • Evgeny Nikitin, Best Paper Award, 2023 International Congress on Advances in Nuclear Power, 26. April 2023, Gyeongju, Korea
  • Julia Neumann, Doktorandenpreis des HZDR 2022, Dresden, Germany
  • Max Klotzsche, 1. Poster-Preis, 10. RCA-Workshop, VKTA, 12.-14. Juni 2023, Dresden, Germany
  • Jann Schöngart, 2. Poster-Preis, 10. RCA-Workshop, VKTA, 12.-14. Juni 2023, Dresden, Germany
  • Selina Richter, IAEA Marie-Słodowska-Curie Fellowship Programme, International Atomic Energy Agency, Vioenna, Austria (2023).


  • Sebastian Friedrich, Best Poster Award, Actinides revisited 2022, 21.09.-23.09.2022, HZDR, Dresden, Germany
  • Thomas Zimmermann, Best Poster Award from RSC Advances, ATAS-ANXAS Workshop, 17th –21st September 2022, ESRF, Grenoble, France
  • Eduard Diaz Pescador, 3rd prize in the "Young Scientist's Workshop" of KERNTECHNIK 2022, 21.- 22.6.2022, Leipzig, Germany
  • Dr. Robin Steudtner, Postdoc Award for Best Oral Contribution, XXXI. Tage der Seltenen Erden Terrae Rarae 2022, 27.-29.09.2022, Leipzig University, Germany
  • Dr. Sebastian Fichter, PhD Award of the GDCh, Nuclear Chemistry Division
  • PD Dr. habil. Moritz. Schmidt, Fritz Straßmann Award – 2022, GDCh, Nuclear Chemistry Division


  • Sebastian Fichter, HZDR Recognition Award for PhD Students 2020
  • Dr. Charlotte Kielar, Outstanding Thesis Award Paderborn University
  • Tatiana Poliakova, Best Student Poster Award in the category “Environmental Science and Forensics” Uranium Science Conference in Bristol, UK 01.07.2021
  • Dr. Kristina Kvashnina, Admission to AcademiaNet (International Database for Excellent Researchers) nominated by Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) for outstanding academic qualifications
  • Dr. Kristina Kvashnina, named by Forbes Russia under the Top 10 strong female scientists 2021
  • Sylvia Schöne, HZDR Science Communication Award 2020 „Kids-mit-Grips“ for experiments in the kindergarden „Hutbergstrolche“ in Dresden-Weißig


  • Dr. Kristina Kvashnina,  Megagrant Ministry of Science and Higher Education, Russia (2019-2021)
  • Miriam Bader, PhD Award of the GDCh, Nuclear Chemistry Division
  • Miriam Bader, HZDR Recognition Award for PhD Students
  • Eduard Diaz Pescador, F. Schäfer, P. Wilhelm, S. Kliem; Best Paper from Europe, ICONE 27 – 27ᵗh International Conference on Nuclear Engineering, May 19 – 24, 2019, Ibaraki, Japan
  • Evgeny Gerber, Best Poster Award, Migration 2019 – 17th International Conference on the Chemistry and Migration Behaviour of Actinides and Fission Products in the Geosphere, September 15 – 20, 2019, Kyoto, Japan
  • Jenny Jessat, Women in Nuclear Germany Award, October 11, 2019, Karlstein, Germany
  • Natalia Mayordomo Herranz, Outstanding Thesis Award, Universidad de Alcalá, July 5, 2019, Alcalá de Henares, Spain
  • Julia Neumann, Poster Award, GDCh Annual Meeting of the Nuclear Chemistry Division 2019, September 25 – 27, 2019, Dresden, Germany


  • Dr. Kristina Kvashnina, ERC Starting Grant Holder, European Research Council (2018-2023)
  • Dr. Frank Bergner, Dr. Corinna Heintze, Dr. Andreas Ulbricht et al. Best Paper Award 2017, Journal of Nuclear Materials, NuMat2018: The Nuclear Materials Conference, October 14 – 18, 2018, Seattle, U.S.A.
  • Manuel Eibl, Best Student Poster Award, Category Environmental Chemistry, Plutonium Futures – The Science 2018, September 09 – 14, 2018, San Diego, U.S.A
  • Evgeny. Gerber, Best young researcher's oral presentation award, 48èmes Journées des Actinides (JdA2018) March 21 –24, 2018, Praia de Porto Novo, Portugal
  • Luisa Köhler, Young Scientist Award, 10th International Symposium on Nano and Supramolecular Chemistry 2018 – ISNSC10, July 09 – 12, 2018, Dresden, Germany


  • Dr. Björn Drobot, Doctoral Award of the GDCh, Nuclear Chemistry Division
  • Dr. Björn Drobot, Doctoral Award of the HZDR
  • Roger Kolditz, Poster Award of the GDCh, Nuclear Chemistry Division


  • Anne Bauer, Best Poster Award, 9th International Conference on Nuclear and Radiochemistry - NRC9, 29.08.-02.09.2016 13:00, Helsinki, Finland
  • Dr. Johannes Raff, Best Poster Award, Annual Conference of the Association for General and Applied Microbiology (VAAM), 13.-16. März 2016, Jena, Germany


  • Claudia Wilke, GDCh Poster Award Nuclear Chemistry Division - 1st place, 30.08.-02.09.2015, Dresden, Germany
  • Dr. Frank Schäfer, Dr. Sören Kliem et al. Best paper award, Annual Meeting on Nuclear Technology, AMNT 2015, 05.-07.05.2015, Berlin, Germany
  • Björn Drobot, GDCh Poster Award Nuclear Chemistry Division - 2nd place, 30.08.-02.09.2015, Dresden, Germany