Report about the
14th International Symposium on Radiopharmaceutical Chemistry
and the
12th International Symposium on Radiopharmacology
in Interlaken/Switzerland
June 10 - June 15, 2001

A record number of about 640 participants met at these two most important symposia in the radiopharmaceutical sciences field in Interlaken to discuss new developments in radiopharmaceutical sciences. In 12 oral and 5 poster sessions presentations were given about novel radiopharmaceuticals labelled with positron emitting radionuclides and halides, about Tc/Re-carbonyl chemistry, radiometal labelled radiopharmaceuticals, target and radionuclide chemistry, radiotherapeutics and miscellaneous subjects.
The high number of participants was met by the high quality of the work presented. There are very exiting new results in Tc-chemistry as well as in PET-chemistry, which translate also into novel radiopharmaceuticals. Radiotherapeutics are a field of (renewed) high interest.
The proceedings appeared in the J. Labelled Cpd. Radiopharm. 44 Suppl 1 (2001) and the Quarterly Journal of Nuclear Medicine 45 No.2 (2201).
The responsible boards took an important decision. A new society with the most likely name
"International Society of Radiopharmaceutical Chemistry and Biology"
has been founded. The society will include radiochemists, radiopharmacists and radiopharmacologists. To the important goals of the new society belongs the funding of the education of the young in the radiopharmaceutical specialities and the providing of a platform for all issues relevant for pharmaceutical science. The official journal of the new society will be the J Nucl Med Biol. The next symposia are scheduled to take place in Sydney (Dr.S.Carr) August 11th- 15th, 2003; Northamerica 2005 (?) and Aachen 2007 (Prof.H.Coenen).

Prof. Dr. P.A. Schubiger

From Left to right
Bill Eckelmann, Mrs. Schubiger, Mike Welch (president of the new society), August Schubiger (symposia organizer), Wynn Volkert;
Mrs. Volkert, Mrs. Vaalburg, Willem Vaalburg, Mrs. Tendon (symposia secretary), Simon Ametamey.