PD Dr. habil. Moritz Schmidt

Head Chemistry of the f-elements
Phone: +49 351 260 3156
+49 351 260 2536

Department of Chemistry of the f-elements

We study the chemistry of the actinides and their lanthanide homologues in solid state as well as in solution. Modern analytical tools combined with quantum chemical computations, provide atomic scale information which can be used to characterize the physico-chemical properties of the actinides in molecules.

Our main focus is on the coordination chemistry of f-elements with inorganic and organic ligands, mostly biological and bio-inspired ligand systems. These studies use single-crystal X-ray diffraction to study structures in the solid state, and spectroscopic techniques, such as NMR, XANES, and TRLFS, to characterize structures in solution. All studies are complemented by quantum-theoretical calculations, which rely heavily on the in-house development of theoretical calculation codes for 5f systems (i.e. actinides).

The fundamental understanding of actinide chemistry is applied to investigate actinide reactivity at the water/mineral interface, where atomic force microscopy, TRLFS, and surface X-ray diffraction are used as surface sensitive speciation techniques. In addition, we investigate the creation and chemical speciation of activation products in materials from nuclear power plants in the context of their safe decommissioning. This work is done in close collaboration with the Department of Surface Processes.

A full list of experimental equipment and capacities can be found here.

Our group is open for interested Master's and PhD students, as well as interns. Some topics currently available in the institute can be found here.

Übersicht FWOF ©Copyright: PD Dr. habil. Schmidt, Moritz

Selected Publications

  • Yuan, K.; Bracco, J. N.; Schmidt, M.; Soderholm, L.; Fenter, P.; Lee, S. S. Effect of Anions on the Changes in the Structure and Adsorption Mechanism of Zirconium Species at the Muscovite (001) – Water Interface. J. Phys. Chem. C 2019, 123, 16699-16710.
  • Rossberg, A.; Abe, T.; Okuwaki, K.; Barkleit, A.; Fukuzawa, K.; Nakano, T.; Mochizuki, Y.; Tsushima, S. Destabilization of DNA through interstrand crosslinking by UO22+. Chem Comm. 2019, 55, 2015-2018.
  • Schöne, S.; März, J.; Stumpf, T.; Ikeda-Ohno, A. Mixed-valent neptunium oligomer complexes based on cation–cation interactions. Dalton Trans. 2019, 48, 6700-6703.
  • Molodtsov, K.; Schymura, S.; Rothe, J.; Dardenne, K.; Schmidt, M. Sorption of Eu(III) on Eibenstock granite studied by µTRLFS: A novel spatially-resolved luminescence-spectroscopic technique. Sci. Rep. 2019, 9, 6287.
  • Götzke, L.; Schaper, G.; März, J.; Kaden, P.; Huittinen, N.; Stumpf, T.; Kammerlander, K. K. K.; Brunner, E.; Hahn, P.; Mehnert, A.; Kersting, B.; Henle, T.; Lindoy, L. F.; Zanoni, G.; Weigand, J. J. Coordination chemistry of f-block metal ions with ligands bearing bio-relevant functional groups. Coord. Chem. Rev. 2019, 386, 267-309.
  • Schöne, S.; Radoske, T.; März, J.; Stumpf, T.; Ikeda-Ohno, A. Synthesis and Characterization of Heterometallic Iron–Uranium Complexes with a Bidentate N-Donor Ligand (2,2′-Bipyridine or 1,10-Phenanthroline). Inorg. Chem. 2018, 57, 13318-13329.
  • Martin, N. P.; Volkringer, C.; Roussel, P.; März, J.; Hennig, C.; Loiseau, T.; Ikeda-Ohno, A. {Np38} clusters: the missing link in the largest poly-oxo cluster series of tetravalent actinides. Chem. Comm. 2018, 54, 10060-10063.
  • Barkleit, A.; Hennig, C.; Ikeda-Ohno, A. Interaction of Uranium(VI) with α-Amylase and Its Implication for Enzyme Activity. Chem. Res. Toxicol. 2018, 31, 1032-1041.
  • Wilke, C.; Barkleit, A.; Stumpf, T.; Ikeda-Ohno, A. Speciation of the trivalent f-elements Eu(III) and Cm(III) in digestive media. J. Inorg. Biochem. 2017, 175, 248-258.
  • Schöne, S.; Radoske, T.; März, J.; Stumpf, T.; Patzschke, M.; Ikeda-Ohno, A. [UO2Cl2(phen)2], a Simple Uranium(VI) Compound with a Significantly Bent Uranyl Unit (phen=1,10-phenanthroline). Chem. Eur. J. 2017, 23, 13574-13578.


  • FENABIUM (BMBF, Nov 2016 – May 2021)
  • SMILE (BMWi, Sep 2018 – Feb 2022)
  • EMPRADO (BMBF, Jul 2019 – Jan 2023)
  • WERREBA (BMBF, Jul 2019 – Jan 2023)
  • f-Char (BMBF, Okt. - Sep. 2023)


For more information, move the cursor over the images or click the persons image!

FWOF Luisa Köhler Dr. Astrid Barkleit Dr. Moritz Schmidt Dr. Peter Kaden Dr. Michael Patzschke Dr. Juliane März Sebastian Fichter Dr. Corey John Taylor Roger Kloditz Julia Neumann


NameBld./Office+49 351 260Email
PD Dr. habil. Moritz Schmidt801/P2493156


NameBld./Office+49 351 260Email
Dr. Robert Gericke801/P2052438
Dr. Peter Kaden801/P2173209
Luisa Köhler801/P2052011
Dr. Juliane März801/P2173209
Julia Neumann801/P3523154
Dr. Michael Patzschke801/P3562989
Dr. Corey John


PD Dr. habil. Moritz Schmidt

Head Chemistry of the f-elements
Phone: +49 351 260 3156
+49 351 260 2536