Social Media

  Twitter-Logo         HZDR-Blog “ResearchIn’ the World” auf    

Upcoming Events

Initiatives & Cooperation

HZDR: Partner at "Network Dresden - City of Science"

In 2006, the city of Dresden carried the title "City of Science", and founded the network Dresden - City of Science, which has been active ever since. One popular event supported by the network partners in Dresden is the Dresden Long Night of Sciences.

"Charter of Diversity"

HZDR is a member of the "Charter of Diversity", an initiative encouraging diversity in business companies and public institutions. It is supported by the German federal government, the chancellor of Germany being its patron.

HZDR Awards

HZDR-Preisträger 2018 ©Copyright: HZDR / André Wirsig

The HZDR Laureates 2018, together with the Board of Directors: Dr. Ulrich Breuer, Dr. Guntram Pausch, Dr. Steffen Barczyk, Dr. Miriam Bader, Dr. Marlen Priegnitz, Anja Schuster, Dr. Martin Rudolph, Dr. Lars Opherden, Dr. Nicholas Hartley, Jan Vorberger, Dr. Jurjen Couperus, Katja Rohatsch, Prof. Roland Sauerbrey, Dr. Dominik Kraus (from left)  

source: HZDR / André Wirsig


The Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf annually bestows the following awards:

  • HZDR Research Award
  • HZDR Technology and Innovation Award
  • HZDR Ph.D. Award
  • HZDR Prize for Scientific Communication

The 2018 HZDR Awards ceremony

The HZDR Board of Directors, Prof. Roland Sauerbrey and Dr. Ulrich Breuer, presented the 2018 awards on March 14, 2019.

Image galery

Research Award 2018

... awarded to Dr. Nicholas Hartley, Dr. Jan Vorberger, Anja Schuster, Katja Rohatsch and Dr. Dominik Kraus (Institute of Radiation Physics) for outstanding work in the field Warm Dense Matter ("Diamond Rain")

Technology and Innovation Award 2018

... awarded to Dr. Steffen Barczyk, Dr. Guntram Pausch, Dr. Marlen Priegnitz and Dr. Christian Richter (Institute of Radioonkology − OncoRay) for their fundamental and comprehensive work on clinical implementation of prompt-gamma based range verification in particle therapy and "first-in-man" application, as well as for the breakthrough in improving the precision of particle therapy of cancer

PhD Award 2018

... awarded to Dr. Lars Opherden (Institute Dresden High Magnetic Field Laboratory) for his PhD thesis "Untersuchung magnetischer Pyrochlor-Systeme, insbesondere der All-In-All-Out-Ordnung in Nd2T2O7 (T = Zr, Hf)"

PhD Recognition Awards 2018

... awarded to Dr. Miriam Bader (Institute of Resource Ecology) for her PhD thesis „Wechselwirkung halophiler Mikroorganismen mit Radionukliden"

... awarded to Dr. Jurjen Pieter Couperus Cabadağ (Institute of Radiation Physics) for his PhD thesis "Optimal beam loading in a nano Coulomb-class laser wakefield accelerator"

Award for Scientific Communication 2018

... awarded to Dr. Martin Rudolph (Helmholtz Institute Freiberg for Resource Technology at HZDR) for the successful communication of the research topic "Resource Efficiency" to the general public as well as to the scientific public

HZDR Innovation Competition

Sieger des HZDR-Innowettbewerbs 2018 ©Copyright: HZDR / André Wirsig

The winning Teams of the HZDR Innovation Competition 2018 together with the Board of Directors at the Award Ceremony:

Dr. Ulrich Breuer, Ehsan Mohseni, Dr. Nico Klingner, Dr. René Heller, Dr. Slawomir Prucnal, Robert Herrmann-Heber, Dr. Sebastian Reinecke, Dr. Charaf Cherkouk, Prof. Roland Sauerbrey (from left)

Source: HZDR / André Wirsig


The prizes for the 2018 competition were awarded during the Awards Ceremony on March 14, 2019.

1. Prize

... awarded to Dr. Nico Klingner and Dr. René Heller (Institute of Ion Beam Physics and Materials Research) for the project "Flugzeit Sekundärionen-Massenspektrometrie im Helium-Ionen-Mikroskop"

2. Prize

... awarded to Dr. Charaf Cherkouk (TU Bergakademie Freiberg, Institute of Experimental Physics), Dr. Slawomir Prucnal (Insitute of Ion Beam Physics and Materials Research) and Max Stöber for the project "Silizium-Metallelektroden für Sekundärbatterin mit hohen Energiedichten"

3. Prize

... awarded to Dr. Sebastian Reinecke, Ehsan Mohseni aund Robert Herrmann-Heber (Institute of Fluid Dynamics) for the project "Intelligent Sparger"