Prof. Dr. Joachim Wosnitza

Dresden High Magnetic Field Laboratory
Phone: +49 351 260 3524

Julia Blöcker

Secretary/ Administration,
Phone: +49 351 260 3527

Nicole Zimmermann

Phone: +49 351 260 3535


Publication: Origin of the quasi-quantized Hall effect in ZrTe5

Galeski, S. et al., Nat. Comm. 12 (2021), 3197

Publication: Electric Quadrupolar Contributions in the Magnetic Phases of UNi4B

Yanagisawa, T. et al., Phys. Rev. Letters 126 (2021), 157201

Publication: Experimental evidence for Zeeman spin–orbit coupling in layered antiferromagnetic conductors

Ramazashvili, R. et al., npj Quantum Materials 6 (2021), 11

Newsletter: Read the latest news from the four leading high field labs in Europe on the EMFL website.

EMFL News 1/2021 ©Copyright: EMFL

Video: EMFL - Science in High Magnetic Fields

Get more information


Dresden High Magnetic Field Laboratory


Prof. Dr. Joachim Wosnitza


Phone: +49 351 260 - 3524
Fax: +49 351 260 - 3531


Short CV

since 12/2004 Professorship at the University of Technology Dresden (TUD) and director of the Hochfeld-Magnetlabor Dresden (HLD) at the HZDR
10/2001 - 11/2004 Professorship for “Low-Temperature Physics” at the University of Technology Dresden (TUD), Germany
06/1995 Habilitation in Experimental Physics at Universität Karlsruhe (TH), Germany
11/1988 PhD graduation, Universität Karlsruhe (TH), Germany
Changeover to Universität Karlsruhe (TH), Germany
07/1985 Diploma (Physics) at RWTH Aachen, Germany

Selected other (Academic) Positions

since 2015 Member of the Selection Committee of the Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize of the DFG
since 2013
Member of the Scientific and Technical Advisory Board at the Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin
since 2008
Head of the Scientific and Technical Council (Wissenschaftlich-Technischer Rat) at the HZDR
2007 - 2015 Advisory Professorship at the Huazhong University of Science and Technology, Wuhan, China
2004 - 2012 Elected member of the DFG (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft) Review Board 307 (Condensed Matter Physics); Chair 2010-2012
2003 - 2005 Dean of student affairs of the physics department at the TU Dresden
1993 - 1999 Scientific Assistant, Universität Karlsruhe (TH), Germany
07/1990 - 06/1991 Postdoc at Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, Illinois, USA

Head/ Administration

NameBld./Office+49 351 260Email
Prof. Dr. Joachim Wosnitza613/1013524
Julia Blöcker613/1033527,
Nicole Zimmermann613/1273535,

Strongly Correlated Electron Systems

NameBld./Office+49 351 260Email
Dr. Thomas Herrmannsdörfer613/1293320
Dr. Lakshmi Bhaskaran613/2253514
Eduard Bykov613/2192740
Dr. Sumanta Chattopadhyay613/2273549
Dr. Alina Maria Deac613/2033709
Steffen Dittrich613/2053528
Dr. Denis Gorbunov613/2243831
Dr. Tino Gottschall613/1143450
Dr. Yulia Gritsenko613/1212561
Dr. Toni Helm613/1133314
Dr. Hannes Kühne613/1243523
Sven Luther613/1042566
Dr. Daryna Opherden613/1042566
Sabrina Palazzese di Basilio613/1212561
Dr. Joonbum Park613/1153344
Dr. Tommy Reimann613/1182564
Dr. Catalina Salazar Mejia613/2262004
Dr. Iurii Scurschii613/1253421
Dr. Marc Uhlarz613/2132091
Dr. Shingo Yamamoto613/2283541
Larysa Zviagina613/1153344
Dr. Sergei Zvyagin613/1263517

Magnet Technologies and Research Infrastructure

NameBld./Office+49 351 260Email
Dr. Sergei Zherlitsyn613/1282617
Mario Gulich613/2053528
Mirko Krause621/1013584
Dr. Atsuhiko Miyata613/2283541
Fiona Ritzmann550/1042635
Christian Rückert613/2212560
Karsten Schulz621/1023586
Andreas Wobst550/1613841