Simon Schmitt

Head Communication & Media Relations
Science Editor
Communication & Media Relations
Phone: +49 351 260 3400

Online Annual Report 2012

In Brief: Personnel Matters

Professorial Appointments

Prof. Michael Baumann (Institute of Radiooncology as well as Clinic and Policlinic for Radiation Therapy and Radiooncology at the Dresden University Hospital and at OncoRay) was appointed as the HZDR’s Associate Director for Radiation Research in Oncology as of January 1, 2012. He has been heading the newly established Institute of Radiooncology since January 1, 2013.

Prof. Sibylle Gemming (Institute of Ion Beam Physics and Materials Research) was selected by the Helmholtz Association for the “W2/W3 Level Professorship Program for Excellent Women in Science.” On January 1, 2013, she assumed the Professorship for Scale-Independent Modeling of Materials and Material Compounds under External Factors of Influence at TU Chemnitz.

On May 1, 2012, Prof. Uwe Hampel (Institute of Fluid Dynamics) assumed the AREVA Endowed Chair of Imaging Techniques in Energy and Process Engineering at TU Dresden.


HZDR Awards 2012 (presented on March 15, 2013, in the municipal technology museum Technische Sammlungen Dresden)

Prof. Michael Baumann (Institute of Radiooncology) received the “Gilbert H. Fletcher Distinguished Professor Lecture Award” of the MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston/Texas, a leading global cancer center. The award honors leading international oncologists for their research work on improving the treatment of cancerous diseases. Michael Baumann was also presented with the Rigaud Award of the European Society for Radiotherapy & Oncology (ESTRO).

The German Crystallographic Society (DGK) presented Dr. Tilmann Leisegang from the Saxray corporation, a HZDR spin-off, with the Max von Laue Award. This prize honors junior scientists who have demonstrated an outstanding performance in the field of crystallography.

Dr. Shengqiang Zhou (Institute of Ion Beam Physics and Materials Research) was presented with the 2012 Prize of the International Conference on Ion Beam Modification of Materials (IBMM). The IBMM Prize honored his work on the use of ion beams in magnetic semiconductor materials and his meticulous analyses of the underlying physical mechanisms.