PD Dr. habil. Moritz Schmidt
Head Chemistry of the f-elements
Phone: +49 351 260 3156, +49 351 260 2536

Department of Chemistry of the f-elements



The understanding of the physical/chemical behaviour of an element in engineered or environmental systems requires fundamental knowledge of the chemistry of the relevant element. The Institute of Resource Ecology at HZDR is recognised to possess a long history in the research of nuclear-related elements, such as actinides or lanthanides, in various applied systems, particularly for geological disposal of radioactive wastes. In order to provide solid scientific foundation for these existing research activities in the applied systems as well as to explore new research fields associated with nuclear-related elements, the Department of Chemistry of the f-elements, established in June 2014, is focusing on the fundamental coordination and solution chemistry of f-elements, i.e., actinides and lanthanides, with a wide range of inorganic- and organic ligands relevant to the geological disposal of radioactive wastes.

Research subjects:

Experimental capability

(On-site capability available in a controlled area at Rossendorf)

Solid state characterisation:

Spectroscopic and other analytical technique:

  • Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) spectrometer
  • Time-resolved laser-induced fluorescence spectroscopy (TRLFS)
  • UV-visible-NIR spectrophotometers
  • FT-IR spectrometer (Agilent Cary 630) with an ATR device
  • Elemental analyser (Elementar Vario MICRO Cube)
  • Electrochemical instruments (e.g. Metrohm AUTOLAB-PGSTAT 302)

Infrastructure for synthetic chemistry of radioactive materials:

  • Schlenk lines for organic/inorganic syntheses
  • Inert- and water-free glove boxes
  • Source of radioactive materials (e.g. Th, U, Np, Pu, Am, Cm, Tc, etc.)

(Synchrotron-based X-ray technique available at the ROBL beamline, ESRF, France)

Ongoing projects

  • TransAqua (BMBF, Jun 2013 – Nov 2017)
  • FENABIUM (BMBF, Nov 2016 – Oct 2019)

Collaboration partners

Publication from the department


For more information, move the cursor over the images or click the persons image!

FWOF Dr. Juliane März Dr. Moritz Schmidt Julia Neumann Dr. Peter Kaden Luisa Köhler Dr. Michael Patzschke Dr. Astrid Barkleit Sebastian Schöne Roger Kloditz Thomas Radoske


NameBld./Office+49 351 260Email
Schmidt PD Dr. habil., Moritz801/P2493156


NameBld./Office+49 351 260Email
Alchaar, Hussam
Barkleit Dr., Astrid801/P2073136
Kaden Dr., Peter801/P2173209
Kloditz, Roger801/P2052438
Köhler, Luisa801/P2052011
März Dr., Juliane801/P2173209
Neumann, Julia801/P3523154
Patzschke Dr., Michael801/P3562989
Radoske, Thomas801/P2052438
Schöne, Sebastian801/P2052438
Schurig, Paulina


PD Dr. habil. Moritz Schmidt
Head Chemistry of the f-elements
Phone: +49 351 260 3156, +49 351 260 2536