Prof. Dr. Sibylle Gemming

Phone: +49 (0) 371 531-33531

Deputy Spokesperson:
Prof. Dr. Heidemarie Schmidt

Phone: +49 (0) 3641 206-116

PD Dr. Peter Zahn

Phone: +49 (0) 351 260-3121

News and Events

International Memory Workshop 2020 (co-org. T. Mikolajick), on-line

Daniel Blaschke defended his PhD thesis at TU Chemnitz.

Bertaut Prize to Dr. Matthias Zschornak from TU-BA Freiberg at 31st Europ. Crystall. Meeting in Oviedo, Spain. Congrats.
More, Even more, In German.

Jura Rensberg defended his PhD thesis at FSU Jena.

Heidemarie Schmidt was appointed as Full Professor at Friedrich Schiller University Jena and Head of Dept. "Quantum Detection" at Leibniz IPHT Jena

Agnieszka Bogusz defended her PhD thesis at TU Chemnitz.

Nicola Spaldin: 2017 L’Oréal-UNESCO “For Women in Science” Laureate - Congrats, ETH Zurich press release

Solveig Putzschke (née Rentrop) defended her PhD thesis at TU Bergakademie Freiberg.


The project is funded by the Initiative and Networking Fund of the Helmholtz Association (VH-VI-422).

Helmholtz-Logo weiß auf blau


Person Function, Expertise
Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf
Prof. Dr. Sibylle Gemming Spokesperson, PI, Theory of complex materials
Dr. Peter Zahn Coordinator, Transport theory
Dr. Kay Potzger PI, MBE, Ion beam modifications
Dr. Stefan Facsko PI (assoc.), local and high-energy ion implantation
Dr. Wolfgang Skorupa PI (assoc.), flash lamp annealing
Dr. Shengqiang Zhou PI (assoc.), laser annealing
Dipl.-Phys. Daniel Blaschke PhD student, FIB
Dipl.-Ing. Ilona Skorupa Technical Assistant, PLD sample preparation
Forschungszentrum Jülich
Prof. Dr. Rainer Waser PI, Defect-related functionalities in oxides
Prof. Dr. Krysztof Szot Expert, Binary and ternary oxides
Dr. Regina Dittmann PI, PLD, resistive switching
Dr. Vikas Rana PostDoc, Nanoscale device analysis
Dipl.-Phys. Katharina Skaja PhD student, defect control in STO
M.Sc. Nicolas Raab PhD student (assoc.), defect control in STO
Technische Universität Chemnitz
Prof. Dr. Heidemarie Schmidt (now at IPHT Jena and Univ Jena) Deputy Spokesperson, PI, PLD of oxides, transport, electrical nanometrology
Dr. Danilo Bürger Expert, PLD, transport measurements
M.Sc. Agnieszka Bogusz PhD student, electrical nanometrology
Dipl.-Ing. Nan Du PhD student (assoc.)
Dr. Kefeng Li Expert processing memristive structures
M.Sc. Tiangui You PhD student (assoc.), PLD, transport measurements
TU Bergakademie Freiberg
Prof. Dr. Dirk C. Meyer PI, X-ray structural characterisation
Dr. Barbara Abendroth PI, ALD, optical spectroscopy
Dr. Hartmut Stöcker PI, X-ray diffraction and spectroscopy
Dipl.-Nat. Solveig Rentrop PhD student
Dipl.-Nat. Juliane Hanzig PhD student (assoc.)
Dipl.-Nat. Florian Hanzig PhD student (assoc.)
Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena
Prof. Dr. C. Ronning PI, Ion-solid interaction in thin films and nanowires
Dipl.-Phys. Jura Rensberg PhD student
NaMLab TU Dresden
Prof. Dr. Thomas Mikolajick PI, Semiconductor technology
Dr. Stefan Slesazeck PI, Novel electronic device development
Dipl.-Ing. Helge Wylezich PhD student
University of California, San Diego
Prof. Dr. Dimitri Basov PI, Optical spectroscopy
Prof. Dr. Massimiliano Di Ventra PI, Transport theory of nanoscale devices
Dr. Mengkun Liu PostDoc (assoc.), Infrared Nano-Spectroscopy
Michael Goldflam PhD student
Jacob Schalch PhD student
ETH Zürich
Prof. Dr. Nicola Spaldin PI, Density functional theory of oxides
MSc. Lei Zhang, now at BOSCH Electrical characterization of MIS diodes
Dr.-Ing. Dipl.-Ing. Hannes Mähne, now at X-FAB Dresden Resistive switching in titanium and niobium oxide

PI ... principal investigator