Prof. Dr. Manfred Helm

Institute of Ion Beam Physics and Material­s Research
Phone: +49 351 260 2260

Eye catcher

German THz Conference 2015

June 8 - 10, 2015 in Dresden, Germany

HZDR Signet of the Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf

Logo DTZ - Deutsches Terahertzzentrum

The German THz Conference will be held in this form for the first time in 2015. Its idea is to bring together German scientists and students working in all fields of THz physics and technology. Held under the auspices of the German THz Center (Deutsches THz Zentrum, DTZ), it is an augmented version of the annual meeting of DTZ, also open to international participation. All talks will be presented in English.

It is planned that in the future the DTZ meeting will be held in this form  – German THz Conference – every second year .

A half-day of this conference (Wednesday, June 10, afternoon) will be devoted to a memorial symposium for Ralph A. Höpfel on the occasion of his 60th birthday. Ralph A. Höpfel  (1955 - 1997), fondly remembered by many in the community, was a pioneer of ultrafast and THz spectroscopy. This is a link to the old homepage of his last group.

It is expected that many of Ralph’s former friends and colleagues will come.

Local Organizing Committee

  • M. Helm (chair)
  • H. Schneider
  • S. Winnerl
  • A. Pashkin

Scientific Committee

  • M. Helm (Dresden)
  • H.-W. Hübers (Berlin)
  • M. Koch (Marburg)
  • A. Leitenstorfer (Konstanz)
  • H. Roskos (Frankfurt)

Invited Speakers

  • Dmitry Basov (UCSD, USA): Nano-photonic phenomena in van der Waals heterostructures
  • Rupert Huber (Univ. Regensburg, Germany): Subcycle terahertz strong- and near-field interaction
  • Daniel Mittleman (Rice Univ., Houston, USA): Spectroscopic characterization of a resonant cavity in a terahertz waveguide
  • Heiko Richter (DLR Berlin, Germany): QCL as 4.7 THz local oscillator for SOFIA
  • Giacomo Scalari (ETH Zürich, Switzerland): Octave-spanning THz semiconductor laser for comb applications
  • Denis Seletskiy (Univ. Konstanz, Germany): Birth of sub-cycle quantum optics
  • Dmitry Turchinovich (MPI-P, Mainz, Germany): Terahertz dynamics in graphene
  • Miriam S. Vitiello (CNR & SNS, Pisa, Italy): Terahertz photodetectors based on two-dimensional nanomaterials

Ralph Höpfel Memorial

  • Benoit Deveaud (EPFL Lausanne, Switzerland): Feshbach resonance with exciton-polaritons 
  • Markus Oberthaler (Univ. Heidelberg, Germany): What CPM-lasers have to do with entanglement in Bose-Einstein condensates ? 
  • Rudolf Bratschitsch (Univ. Münster, Germany): Atomically thin transition metal dichalcogenides light up

In addition, Jagdeep Shah and Erich Gornik will share their memories of Ralph.


The core scientific program will begin on Monday around 1 p.m. and finish on Wednesday around noon. Wednesday afternoon will be devoted to the Ralph Höpfel memorial session, where all participants are welcome to join.

In addition there will be a industry session with suppliers and users of THz technology.

On Tuesday evening there will be the DTZ Jahresversammlung (for members only) and a conference dinner in Wenzels Prager Bierstuben, a fews steps away from the conference venue. 

The preliminary program can be found here.

The conference will take place at the Dreikönigskirche Dresden in the heart of Dresden.

Travel and accommodation

Abstract Submission closed (deadline was 31 March 2015)

Conference Fees


Before 15 April 2015

After 15 April 2015

Regular nonmember

350 €

400 €

Regular member DTZ

300 €

350 €

Student nonmember

200 €

250 €

Student member DTZ

175 €

225 €

(If you want to become a member of DTZ, please go to or contact

Guests attending only the Memorial Symposium don't have to register; just send an email to

As an important part of this conference there will be an exposition which will allow companies active in the THz market to present their products.

We thank our sponsors:


Zürich InstrLaser Quantum Bruker


Logo Protemics Logo Semic

Logo Neaspec Tydex-LogoLogo TicWave


Prof. Dr. Manfred Helm

Institute of Ion Beam Physics and Material­s Research
Phone: +49 351 260 2260