HZDR Awards 2021

Foto: Verleihung der HZDR-Preise 2021 ©Copyright: HZDR / André Wirsig

HZDR Awards 2021 on May 18 at Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR).

Image: HZDR / André Wirsig

Special commitment and outstanding achievements of our employees deserve additional recognition. For this reason, the Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR) bestows the following awards every year:

  • HZDR Research Award
  • HZDR Technology and Innovation Award
  • HZDR PhD Award
  • HZDR Prize for Scientific Communication

The Board of Directors handed over the awards at a ceremony in the main lecture hall on May 18, 2022. Due to the pandemic, the ceremony was only accessible to award winners and speakers. Employees were able to follow the event via live streaming.

Research Award

… awarded to Dr. Katrin Schultheiß (Institute of Ion Beam Physics and Materials Research) for her outstanding research in the field of magnonics. The physicist develops energy-saving computer architectures modeled on the human brain. To do so, she uses the nonlinear interactions of spin waves in magnetic micro- and nanostructures.

The recognition award went to Dr. Frank Stefani, Jan Forbriger, Thomas Gundrum and Dr. Thomas Herrmannsdörfer (Institute of Fluid Dynamics and Dresden High Magnetic Field Laboratory). They succeeded in experimentally confirming the theoretically predicted behavior of Alfvén waves in the solar atmosphere by using the molten alkali metal rubidium.

Technology and Innovation Award

… awarded to Dr. Nils Peters, Dr. Patrick Wohlfahrt, Jonathan Berthold, Maria Tschiche, Dr. Tobias Hölscher und Dr. Christian Hofmann (Institute of Radiooncology – OncoRay, University Hospital Carl Gustav Carus Dresden and Siemens Healthineers) for establishing a direct range prediction in particle therapy based on imaging with dual-energy computed tomography.

The recognition award went to Dr. Martin Kreller and Dr. Robert Wodtke (Institute of Radiopharmaceutical Cancer Research) for developing a technological manufacturing process in the GMP-compliant routine production of the radiopharmaceutical iodine-123-ioflupane.

PhD Awards

… awarded to Dr. Sebastian Unger (Institute of Fluid Dynamics) for his dissertation on Experimentelle und numerische Untersuchung der Wärmeübertragungs- und Strömungscharakteristik von berippten Einzelrohren und Rohrbündeln.

… awarded to Dr. Falco Reissig (Institute of Radiopharmaceutical Cancer Research) for his dissertation on Untersuchungen zur stabilen Bindung von kurzlebigen Alphaemittern für die Radionuklidtherapie.

… awarded to Dr. Toni Hache (Institute for Ion Beam Physics and Materials Research) for his dissertation on Frequency control of auto-oscillations of the magnetization in spin Hall nano-oscillators.

Award for Scientific Communication

… awarded to Dr. Matthias Streller, Nadja Gneist and Tobias Kozlowski (DeltaX) for developing online experiment courses for the HZDR School Lab. The team has significantly expanded DeltaX’s offerings and given students access to exciting educational content during the pandemic.

The recognition award went to Lucas Pereira and Dr. Raimon Tolosana Delgado (Helmholtz Institute Freiberg for Resource Technology), Helene Hoffmann (Department of Information Services and Computing), Dr. Nico Hoffmann and Patrick Stiller (Institute for Radiation Physics) as well as Pia Hanfeld and Lenz Fiedler (CASUS) for their involvement in the “Jugend hackt” Labs in Dresden, Görlitz and Freiberg.