Social Media

Twitter-Logo  Mastodon-Logo  LinkedIn-Logo

Contact Us

Bautzner Landstrasse 400
01328 Dresden, Germany

Phone: +49 351 260 - 0

Further Information


Boards of the Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf e. V. (HZDR)

According to the HZDR bylaws, the official bodies of the association are:

  • Supervisory Board ("Kuratorium")
  • Board of Directors ("Vorstand")
  • Scientific Advisory Board ("Wissenschaftlicher Beirat")
  • General Assembly ("Mitgliederversammlung")
  • Scientific-Technical Council ("Wissenschaftlich-Technischer Rat")

The Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board is the main supervisory body of the HZDR. It monitors the legality, expediency, and economic efficiency of the management by the Board of Directors and decides on important research-relevant and financial matters. The Supervisory Board may give instructions to the Board of Directors in important research-relevant and financial matters as well as the implementation of control mechanisms designed to review the success of scientific and technical activities (Last update: April 1, 2023).

  • MinDirig’in Oda Keppler (Chair)
    Federal Ministry of Education and Research
  • MDgt’in Dr. Babett Gläser (Co-chair)
    Saxon State Ministry of Science, Culture and Tourism
  • Prof. Dr. med. D. Michael Albrecht
    Medical Director, CEO | University Hospital Carl Gustav Carus, Dresden
  • Prof. Dr. Cornelia Denz
    President, National Metrology Institute (Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt, PTB), Braunschweig
  • Thorsten Greb
    COO Steel and Metals | ALBA Europe Holding plc & Co. KG
  • Prof. Dr. Burkard Hillebrands (Chair of the Scientific Advisory Board, see below)
    RPTU Kaiserslautern-Landau | Department of Physics
  • Prof. Dr. Erika Kothe
    Friedrich Schiller University Jena | Faculty of Biological Sciences

The Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board advises the Board of Directors in any and all scientific-technical matters of fundamental relevance, such as e.g. strategy and planning of HZDR’s research and development activities, or evaluation of the results (Term 07/2021-06/2024).


  • Prof. Dr. Burkard Hillebrands (Chair | Research Field „Matter“)
    RPTU Kaiserslautern-Landau | Department of Physics

Research Field "Matter":

  • Prof. Dr. Mei Bai

    Stanford Linear Accelerator Center | Stanford University

  • Prof. Dr. Peter Christianen
    Radboud University Nijmegen | High Field Magnet Laboratory
  • Prof. Dr. Kathrin Dörr
    Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg | Institute of Physics
  • Prof. Dr. Ulrich Eckern
    Augsburg University | Institute of Physics
  • Prof. Dr. Holger Gies
    Friedrich Schiller University Jena | Institute for Theoretical Physics
  • Prof. Dr. Franz X. Kärtner
    Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY
  • Prof. Dr. Victor Malka
    Weizmann Institute of Science
  • Prof. Dr. Hans-Arno Synal
    Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zürich | Department of Physics
  • Prof. Dr. Eva-Maria Weig
    Technische Universität München | Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Research Field "Energy":

  • Prof. em. Dr. Melissa Denecke
    International Atomic Energy Agency Vienna International Centre | Division of Physical and Chemical Sciences Department of Nuclear Applications
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Sabine Flamme
    FH Münster University of Applied Sciences
  • Dr. Michael Fuchs
    formerly PreussenElektra GmbH
  • Prof. Dr. Sarah Gleeson
    GFZ Potsdam | Inorganic and Isotope Geochemistry
  • Prof. Dr. J. A. M. (Hans) Kuipers
    Technical University Eindhoven | Department of Chemical Engineering and Chemistry
  • Prof. Dr. Jens-Uwe Repke
    TU Berlin | Institute of Chemical and Process Engineering
  • Prof. Dr. Thorsten Schäfer
    University of Jena | Institute of Geosciences

Research Field "Health":

  • Prof. Dr. Thomas Bortfeld
    Massachusetts General Hospital | Department of Radiation Oncology
  • Prof. Dr. Rob Coppes
    Rijksuniversiteit Groningen | Faculty of Medical Sciences
  • Prof. Dr. Vincent Gregoire
    Université de Lyon | Centre Léon Bérard
  • Prof. Dr. Dirk Hellwig
    University Hospital Regensburg | Department of Nuclear Medicine
  • Prof. Dr. Corry Marijen
    Nederlands Kanker Instituut
  • Prof. Dr. Markus Mitterhauser
    General Hospital of Vienna & Ludwig Boltzmann Institute Applied Diagnostics
  • Prof. Dr. Barbara Seliger
    Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg | Institute of Medical Immunology
  • Prof. Dr. Sibylle Ziegler
    Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich | Preclinical Research

The General Assembly

Members of the association are legal entities and natural persons. All members build the general assembly, which is entitled to main rights according to the German association law (Last update: August 2, 2021).

  • Federal Republic of Germany
    represented by the Federal Minister of Education and Research, represented by MinR Dr. Peter Schroth 
  • Free State of Saxony
    represented by the Saxon State Minister of Science, Culture and Tourism, represented by MinR’in Dr. Annerose Beck
  • Prof. Dr. Gert Bernhard
  • City of Dresden
    represented by the mayor, Mr. Dirk Hilbert
  • Raymond Haböck
    Head of the Dresden branch, Siemens AG
  • Prof. Dr. Manfred Helm
  • Dr. Diana Stiller
    Administrative Director, HZDR
  • Prof. Dr. Alexander Michaelis
    Fraunhofer Institute for Ceramic Technologies and Systems IKTS, Dresden
  • Prof. Dr. Ursula M. Staudinger
    Rector, TU Dresden
  • Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Katrin Salchert
    Rector, HTW Dresden - University of Applied Sciences
  • Prof. Dr. Sebastian M. Schmidt
    Scientific Director, HZDR
  • Prof. Dr. Joachim Wosnitza


  • Prof. Dr. Peter Fulde (✝)
    Gründungsdirektor Max-Planck-Institut für Physik komplexer Systeme, Dresden
  • Dr. Frank Schmidt
  • Prof. P. August Schubiger